Located at the top of Parliament Street on the city's south side, it stands next to Dublin Castle. The external structure is primarily made out of white Portland stone from a quarry in Dorset. The large size and fine fittings of the Royal exchange, with carved capitals by Simon Vierpyl, and plasterwork by the leading stuccodore Charles Thorpe, reflect the standing and prestige of Dublin in the 18th Century. The neo-classical building contains a central entrance hall or Rotunda, with a large dome supported by twelve columns which are surrounded by an ambulatory where the merchants strolled and discussed business meetings. The function of the building was to provide a meeting place for Dublin's businessmen, where they could buy and sell goods and trade bills of exchange.
The building was restored to its 18th-century appearance at the beginning of the 21st century, and Dublin City Council has won awards for the conservation of this historic building.
Today City Hall, is a very popular choice as a unique venue for Weddings. With its prime city centre location City Hall offers couples an ideal venue for civil and secular ceremonies at City Hall with most ceremony’s taking place in the stunning Rotunda Hall. Around the Rotunda you will see 4 statues; O’Connell, Drummond, Thomas Davis and Charles Lucas. Daniel ‘the Liberator’ O’Connell was most noted as a catholic emancipator, he worked to abolish laws discriminating against the catholic people of Ireland. Thomas Drummond was the Irish Secretary and an engineer (1791-1840). He was most famous for the design of a lighthouse light that is still in use today. In 1840, at the age of 43, he fell ill with TB and died. One of his greatest contributions to the Irish political landscape was the abolishment of a law that ordered 1/10th of all income to be paid to the Church of Ireland. Thomas Davis was a famous poet and this statue was built in 1943 to mark his contribution to the Arts. Charles Lucas was a prominent figure in the development of the city as we know it today. He was a member of the Wide Streets Commission and they developed the areas the we now call O’Connell street, d’Olier street, Henry street, Westmoreland street and college green area. He also had great influence on the guilds in Dublin. There are 12 Murals surrounding the dome. These Murals were painted between 1914 and 1919 by a man called James Ward and his pupils. He was the master at the Metropolitan Institute of Art in Dublin at the time. The subject matter was suggested by Alderman Thomas Kelly, and they are based around events in the history of Dublin. There was a budget of £350 pounds for the frescos and they were restored by a man called Matthew Moss in 1968. More information can be found on our Facebook page on each of these murals. The central part of the Rotunda, including the mosaic Coat of Arms, was re-laid in 1898 to a design of the then City Architect Charles J. McCarthy. The white marble surrounding the Coat of Arms is actually Portland stone from the Isle of Wight. The light grey-blue marble is Sicilian; the black marble is from Co. Kilkenny; the green marble is from Co. Galway; and the red marble is from Co. Cork. All of the marble is two inches thick and is grouted with Portland cement. The work was carried out by Sibthorpe and Sons of Dublin.
Due to the close proximity of City Hall to the Morrison hotel many of our weddings stroll across the liffey to the Morrison Hotel after their ceremony in City Hall for the Wedding Reception.